open search form


Engineering and Applied Science (EAS)

José E. Andrade

Domniki Asimaki       

Kaushik Bhattacharya

Thomas H. Heaton

Nadia Lapusta

Michael Ortiz

Houman Owhadi

Guruswami (Ravi) Ravichandran        


Ares J. Rosakis

José E. Andrade

George W. Housner Professor of Civil and Mechanical Engineering; Cecil and Sally Drinkward Leadership Chair, Department of Mechanical and Civil Engineering

Multi-scale and multiphysics modeling of geomaterials, soil liquefaction

Domniki Asimaki (GMG Co-Director)

Professor of Mechanical and Civil Engineering

Ground deformation and failure, geotechnical infrastructure systems, underground structures

Kaushik Bhattacharya

Howell N. Tyson, Sr., Professor of Mechanics and Materials Science; Vice Provost

Multi-scale mechanics of solids, heterogeneity, fracture and friction

Thomas H. Heaton

Professor of Engineering Seismology

Earthquake early warning and source physics, structural health monitoring and dynamics

Nadia Lapusta (GMG Co-Director)

Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Geophysics

Earthquake source mechanics, fracture and faulting in geomaterials, interaction with fluids

Michael Ortiz

Frank and Ora Lee Marble Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering

Multiscale modeling of geomaterials, fydrofracturing, damage models

Houman Owhadi

Professor of Applied and Computational Mathematics and Control and Dynamical Systems

Uncertainty quantification, stochastic systems, homogenization theory

Guruswami (Ravi) Ravichandran

John E. Goode, Jr., Professor of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering; Otis Booth Leadership Chair, Division of Engineering and Applied Science

Laboratory studies of dynamic deformation and failure behavior solids

Ares J. Rosakis

Theodore von Karman Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering

Laboratory earthquakes, fracture and faulting in the presence of fluids

Geological and Planetary Science (GPS)

Jean-Paul Ampuero

Jean-Philippe Avouac       

Robert W. Clayton

Michael C. Gurnis

Donald V. Helmberger


Zach Ross

Mark Simons

Joann Stock

Zhongwen Zhan

Professor of Seismology

Seismic imaging, ground motions, physics of earthquakes and landslides, inverse methods

Jean-Philippe Avouac (GMG Director)

Earle C. Anthony Professor of Geology and Mechanical and Civil Engineering

Crustal deformation, earthquakes, space-based imaging, hydraulic fracturing

Rob Clayton

Professor of Geophysics; Divisional Academic Officer for Geological and Planetary Sciences

Exploration and crustal geophysics, imaging with dense arrays, inverse methods

Mike Gurnis

John E. and Hazel S. Smits Professor of Geophysics; Director, Seismological Laboratory

Computational geodynamics, earth structure and deformation

Don Helmberger

Smits Family Professor of Geophysics, Emeritus

Seismic wave propagation, imaging of fine structures of the upper earth

Mike Lamb

Professor of Geology

Landscape and sedimentary deposit evolution, debris flows, landslides

Zachary Ross

Assistant Professor of Geophysics

Advanced methods for EQs detection and locations (template matching)

Mark Simons

John W. and Herberta M. Miles Professor of Geophysics; Jet Propulsion Laboratory Chief Scientist

Space-based monitoring of crustal deformation and geohazards, post-event damage detection

Joann Stock

Professor of Geology and Geophysics

Geological and geophysical field studies of earth structure and properties, borehole geophysics, hydraulic fracturing

Zhongwen Zhan

Assistant Professor of Geophysics

Seismic imaging of earth structure and earthquake rupture processes